So Here’s What’s Been Going On

I garden at a local community garden, which has a variety of methods of ensuring that people keep harmful plants or weeds out of their plots.  (They’re mostly ineffective, but that’s another story and will be told another day.)  The major method is to have someone walk around once in a while, see what’s growing, and send warnings to people who have let their plots become overgrown, or who are hosting especially pernicious plants.

Well, for some time I received warning messages, telling me to remove the weeds from my plot.  Only problem:  there weren’t any.  Well, there were some plants that are often considered weeds, like Oxalis stricta, the yellow-flowered common wood sorrel.  I let it grow in the boundary spaces between different types of plants to retain moisture and prevent soil from washing away in the rain.  So I send some replies explaining what the plants were and why I’d left them.  No responses, but I did get more warnings.

Eventually I got one saying that my plot would be taken away from me.  Why?  I’m not sure, but perhaps the Jerusalem artichokes I was growing at one end were the problem.  They’re not weeds – far from it – but as they don’t bloom into very late in autumn maybe they were being confused with weeds.

I contacted the garden president, and she spoke to the reviewer – who then resigned in what I presume to be disgust.  So… will I still have my plot next year?  We’ll see.

In other news:  our local library misplaced three of the books I returned on a day the library closed early for a staff workshop.  One was later found on the library’s shelves, the other two have never been found, despite two searches by library staff.

So, as I was informed by the people behind the counter, the library will only charge me half the late fee for the found book.  How generous!  I intend to pay them nothing – nothing – but I suspect they’re going to see things differently.

Plus, the frame of my only remaining pair of glasses snapped due to metal fatigue.

So, I’m just having a great old time.

3 Responses to “So Here’s What’s Been Going On”

  1. What do you do for a living?

    • Look for work, mostly. I’m moonlighting as a grocery store checkout clerk.

      • I’ve done retail and found it unpleasant. Apparently my demeanor is not friendly enough. In software there are no such demands, and I’ve been hired in bad job markets despite not being very good/experienced. Not immediately though, and each time it was as a result of them getting my resume from a web service that specialized in that. I don’t know as much about other fields.

Leave a Reply

