Sea of Glass

There are certain authors, who despite having exemplary works or even careers, never really get the attention and recognition they deserve. (And then there are others like J.K. Rowling, who write average if acceptable works and receive worldwide adulation and immense wealth. No, I’m not bitter in the least.) One such author is Barry B. Longyear.

Most people, if they’ve heard of him at all, only recognize him as the original source of a middling-okay 80’s movie called Enemy Mine. They’ve never read the book that movie was loosely based on – which is a shame.

There are certain books that are always remembered by those who read them. Sometimes, they change people’s lives. Enemy Mine is one such. Sea of Glass, another.

It’s been out-of-print for years, too. I had a copy once, loaned it to a friend, and never got it back. I don’t really mind that – it was worth it to spread it about – but I wished I had another.

I found one! You’ve probably figured that part out by now. It is one of the saddest and some would say pessimistic books I’ve ever had the privilege to read. I would say it’s the most hopeful. But it knows that we never escape the errors of our ancestors, and that there’s no such thing as a free lunch.

2 Responses to “Sea of Glass”

  1. If you’re not a professionally published author, I don’t think you have any place being bitter about Rowling.

    • I can be bitter about her receiving so much limelight while more-deserving works fall out of print in the shadows.

      Besides, I technically am a professionally-published author. Technically.

Leave a Reply

