Newfangled Features

I think I’ll try adding tags to my posts. I’m not sure how useful they actually are, as I’ve never bothered with them either in reading or writing, but some people seem to search for information with them, so presumably there’s a net benefit.

What precisely is the difference between post tags and categories? WordPress is awfully slow about establishing a new post tag…

One Response to “Newfangled Features”

  1. >What precisely is the difference between post tags and categories?

    I’m not entirely sure – categories and tags for blog posts are the same feature as far as I’m concerned, so long as they’re both visible, you can add an arbitrary amount of both, and neither is reader-generated.

    Having a distinction would make sense if a post could only fit into one category, or tags were reader-generated, or somesuch.

Leave a Reply

