John C. Wright’s Predictions, and The Fool’s Progress

Two things:

First, John C. Wright, author of some truly fascinating science- and speculative-fiction, offers some predictions for the future on his Livejournal. This act was inspired by Robert Heinlein’s own speculations in 1950 and later re-examinations of which came true and which were falsified. They are interesting and worth reading, although I have issues with several of them. (This refers to Wright’s, although I could say the same about Heinlein’s.)

Second, Eliezer Yudkowsky goes out of his way to be obnoxious yet again. I quote:

John C. Wright, who wrote the heavily transhumanist The Golden Age, had some kind of temporal lobe epileptic fit and became a Christian. There’s a once-helpful soul, now lost to us.

I’m a great fan of Wright’s works, and while I have my misgivings about his (relatively) recent religious conversion, even I wouldn’t be so arrogantly dismissive as to label the change as resulting from a neurological failure. (Especially if I had all sorts of fixed ideas myself – those who live in glass houses shouldn’t play around with mass drivers.)

Could someone who sees Eliezer personally please give him a good kick in the head? Kthanx.

2 Responses to “John C. Wright’s Predictions, and The Fool’s Progress”

  1. John Wright Says:

    I came across Eliezer Yudkowsky’s comment, and debated with myself whether to point out (gently) to him that, as a bold soul marching under the golden banner of Reason, it did not behoove him to believe in epilepsy without proof of epilepsy. He should have at least looked at my medical record (not to mention getting a medical degree) before issuing a diagnosis.

    In the end, I decided Yudkowsky was merely making a joke, and so I said nothing.

    If he were serious, then he is making fun of a helpless victim of a mental disease. That seems a bit cruel.

    If he were serious, he is expecting Tom o’ Bedlam with a broken brain to think through the nuanced arguments for and against religion with sober judiciousness. How unfair! Would you ask a man with a broken leg to run a race?

    So he is not serious. The whole point of calling it an epileptic fit is a joke: and the joke would make no sense if anyone actually thought a religious experience were an epileptic fit.

    No kick in the head is needed, please. I fear I betrayed some of the kind patrons of my humble novel, who thought I was a messenger in sympathy with their message. I failed them through no fault of my own, which is sort of a kick in the head by itself, albeit unintentional. Someday I shall make it up to him, I hope.

  2. Some ‘jokes’ are intended only to cause harm.

    The proper response to such is a ‘friendly’ kick in the head.

Leave a Reply

